US Air Conditioning

Call Now (800) 910-9675

Carbon Monoxide Detector

California homeowners are required to install carbon monoxide detectors.

A carbon monoxide detector or CO detector is a device that detects the presence of the carbon monoxide (CO) gas in order to prevent carbon monoxide poisoning. CO is a colorless and odorless compound produced by incomplete combustion. It is often referred to as the "silent killer" because it is virtually undetectable without using detection technology.

California Law Requirements

Here are important facts about the carbon monoxide law below. You can view the entire law on the California State Senate website.

  • Who It Impacts: All existing single-family homeowners that have fossil-fuel burning appliances, fireplaces and/or attached garage.
  • What The Law Requires: A carbon monoxide detector must be installed in these homes.
  • How Much Does A Detector Cost: Carbon monoxide detectors cost anywhere from $10-$50. You can compare prices here.
  • How Is The Law Enforced: People requesting homeowner loans will have to show that they have installed carbon monoxide detectors in their homes.
  • What About Apartments: The law will require all other types of residential units other than single-family homes to have carbon monoxide detectors by Jan. 1, 2013. The owner of the rental unit will be responsible for installing the detectors.
  • Fines: You will get a warning to install a carbon monoxide detector within 30 days of notice. If you fail to do so, fines will be up to $200.

Locate your HVAC dealer to have a CO detector installed.